CKT's Years in Review

Creative Kids Tales - A Year in Review (2019)

What a year! It’s been go, go, go at CKT HQ this year.

This time of year, we like to reflect on our achievements and celebrate our member’s successes. We hope you enjoy the 2019 edition of - A Year in Review.

Creative Kids Tales Writers’ Festival

We kicked off the year with our second sold-out writers’ festival. Under the theme of INVEST, our guest speakers, included Jackie French, Jacqueline Harvey, Deborah Abela and Emma Quay.

Each presenter shared personal stories of how they have invested in their careers to gain maximum returns. 

Jackie French’s key points:

  • Writers are like cows. Your words are the milk. However, you need publishers to turn your words (milk) into the book (the cheese). Publishers have been whipping words into books for a long time; they know what they are doing.
  • Seven Seconds is all your book gets to hook a potential buyer.
  • Everyone is capable of writing better; all you have to do is learn the craft.
  • Invest in the time to write. Then rewrite, rewrite and rewrite.

Jackie also engaged the audience on a mooing exercise. It helps calm the nerves and regulates breathing. Try it before you next have to speak in public. It really works.

Jacqueline Harvey’s key points:

  • Learn the craft of writing. Attend courses, workshops and read extensively.
  • What makes you stand out? What’s your point of difference? Create a brand.
  • Network with - writers, illustrators, readers, publishers, booksellers, librarians, parents, schools and media organisations.
  • Invest in competitions, courses and conferences.
  • Invest in the time to write. Invest in reading in the genre you are interested in. Invest in the time to write. (It’s mentioned twice because it is crucial)
  • You’ll need patience. It can take ten years to become an overnight success.

Emma Quay’s key points:

  • Draw every day. It doesn’t matter how long or how little. Just draw!
  • Let your mind wander – don’t rush the creative process.
  • Invest in time to draw. Draw over and over again.
  • Allow yourself to develop your own voice. 

Deborah Abela’s key points:

  • Invest in yourself as a writer. Back Yourself.
  • Every word needs to earn its place on the page. Write and rewrite your story.
  • Play with your words. Channel your inner child.
  • When it’s hard to write, remember why you fell in love with your story. Stay at the keyboard.
  • Always cause trouble for your characters. 

Publisher's Panel key points:

  • Never deviate from the submission guidelines.
  • Publishers want to fall in love with your character. They need to be relatable.
  • Stories should be written from the heart.
  • Publishers do Google you.
  • Listen to the publishers/editor’s suggestions. They, as you do, want to create a winning publication.
  • Don’t continually challenge the editor’s decision. You don’t want to get the reputation of being difficult to work with.
  • Publishers will generally only sign up to two books in a series at a time. Don’t pitch a three or four-book series.

Serge Smagarinsky was the winner of this year’s Pitch Ya Book session. He received the first prize of a manuscript assessment with Creative Kids Tales. Serge was also invited to submit his winning pitch to Clare Hallifax. 

In the Shadow of an Elephant - Book Launch 

What would a festival be without a book launch? I was lucky to be able to share my latest book, In the Shadow of an Elephant with festival attendees and the publishers, Little Pink Dog Books.

My dear friend, Jacqueline Harvey, gave the most beautiful introduction before I shared the back story of how this book came to be.

It was wonderful to see how the book was received with many audience members moved to tears. To strike such emotion in readers is why writers write.

Manuscript Assessments

Publishers, Penguin Random House, Scholastic, HarperCollins, Little Pink Dog Books, Wombat Books, Big Sky Publishing, Sue Whiting and Mayfair Literary Agency, carried out manuscript assessments throughout the day.

And I’m happy to say we are now two from two. Victoria Mackinlay was scooped up by Scholastic in 2018, and this year Sarah Wallace was contracted by Little Pink Dog Books.

CKT Committee

As Creative Kids Tales continues to grow, the day to day jobs seem to multiply faster than rabbits. I decided it was time to enlist some help and the CKT Committee was formed - Karen Hendriks, Hayley Hunkin, Susan Hili, Fiona Lloyd, Michelle Wanasundera, Dannielle Viera and Jeffrey Doherty.

Our Committee also help oversee the Creative Kids Tales Network Group Facebook page.

These guys have been great! They’ve helped me bring some initiatives to fruition and suggested some new ideas we’ll be implementing in 2020.

Creative Kids Tales Story Collection 2

FLIP IT – READ IT.

Thirty-four of Creative Kids Tales authors and illustrators crafted 74 stories, verse and illustrations to enchant and thrill you. 

One side THINGS THAT GO BUMP contains spooky short stories while the other side of the book ENCHANTED features fairy tale style stories.

Launched on Saturday 26 October at Harry Hartog Miranda, 12 children's authors and illustrators came together for the launch of the Creative Kids Tales Story Collection 2 Anthology. We dressed up, we shared stories, we laughed, and we celebrated. Many of us were spoiled with the invitation from local media for interviews. Thanks to our talented CKT family - Hayley Hunkin, Karen Hendriks, Geoff Richards, Davey Tross, Dannielle Viera, Sandra Bennett, Ruth-Mary Smith, Susan Hili, Anita Kenny, Fiona Lloyd and Janelle Ballenden. 

There were several launches around the country – Maria Parenti-Baldey and June Perkins launched in Queensland. Janet Stutley in Melbourne and Jo Saunders launched at a school in Somerset, Qld.

Our second publication sold out all 1400 copies in just a few short weeks. 

The Creative Kids Tales Story Collection 2 was compiled by Creative Kids Tales Founder and Author, Georgie Donaghey.

Creative Kids Tales Speakers Agency

What's the buzz at CKT HQ?

You may have noticed we've been dropping a few teasers on social media of late. There's been lots of chatter around the industry, and we were finally able to share our BIG announcement.

Formed in 2011, Creative Kids Tales has grown to become a highly respected name within the children's writing industry. We continue to build on our exemplary services and reputation by launching the Creative Kids Tales Speakers Agency

We know Authors and Illustrators subsidise their income through talks, presentations and workshops. It's a competitive market, we get that. That's why we feel Creative Kids Tales Speakers Agency is a natural progression for us. This new initiative will enable us to further assist and promote children's authors and illustrators to a broader audience.

Our experienced authors, illustrators and storytellers will engage with children and adults at schools, preschools, libraries, festivals and conferences around Australia.

We look forward to providing our customers with the perfect match for their next literary event.  For more about the Creative Kids Tales Speakers Agency, we invite you to visit our website or follow us on Facebook and Instagram.

Website: creativekidstalesspeakersagency.com.au

CKT Crew

A few words from our AMAZING team.

Fiona Lloyd

Fiona Lloyd continued to rock her role as our CKT Intro Writer. This role involves a lot of research around our upcoming monthly guests, preparing the introduction that is both informative and fun.

My second year with CKT has been a busy but enjoyable one.

Following on from 2018, I continued to write introductory profiles for the CKT website giving me the opportunity to learn so much more about the industry and to help expand the wonderful resource that is CKT.

The second festival held in April was yet again an experience not to be missed. With an addition this year of a dinner the night before, we got to meet new friends and share our passion for writing, making it a full and rewarding weekend. I was particularly honoured to talk about our critique group, sharing the podium with the high calibre of guest speakers that Georgie organised.

The CKT critique group plays a major role in improving my writing and this year proved no exception. I feel that through the group, friendships have been formed with like-minded people and we share our passion with honesty to improve and encourage each other on our individual journeys.

Also in April, a very busy Georgie formed a committee which I was proud to be invited to join. Our committee have been a pleasure to work with. The creative ideas have certainly flowed!

Rounding up the year, the publication of the Creative Kids Tales Story Collection 2, in which I had two short stories published, was an absolute highlight. To see my words in print and beautifully illustrated by talented CKT members was a major step for me and proof that persistence and hard work pays off. I’d like to thank Georgie and all her family for the incredible amount of time and dedication they put into helping emerging authors.

I wish your CKT journey to be equally fruitful!

Emma Cameron

This past year, Emma Cameron and I have assessed dozens of manuscripts. In fact, we celebrated our 100th assessment in October. To celebrate we ran a competition and gave away two assessments.

Here’s what Emma had to say about her year with CKT:

It’s been great to think about what we’ve achieved this year.

The highlight of the year was seeing Author Personal Training come into its own. Participants have embraced our targeted guidance to quickly fill gaps in their learning. Watching authors build their skills in the craft so readily proves how right we were to develop and offer this service.

The rewards of editing another anthology were enormous. I was delighted by the creativity of so many submissions and am proud to say I contributed to helping present a finely polished collection of inventive and enjoyable stories.

As always, it’s been a pleasure to help assess manuscripts. What’s been particularly pleasing is an increase in the number of chapter books submitted. There’s so much more to get my teeth into and offer feedback on with these and I hope to see more of them.

Susan Hili

Not only was Susan Hili busy illustrating the winning cover for our ‘Things That Bo Bump’ side of the Anthology, but she also continued as the fearless Captain of the CKT Critique Group. 

Susan is a magician! She manages with ease the needs of our 38 members who are divided into five groups. She doesn’t flinch when I send out calls for new members instead taking it all in her stride as she co-ordinates the weekly rosters.

Rod

Now to Rod, my long suffering husband, who supports my crazy ideas for CKT, all of them. My requests usually begin with the line ‘I’ve been thinking’ which is met with a deep grumbling ‘yessss’. Creative Kids Tales would not be possible without his incredible support, his superior knowledge of building websites and SEO’s. 

As we embark on the Creative Kids Tales Speakers Agency together, I know there will be many more times I hear that grumble ?

Do you want to know more about our team?

www.creativekidstales.com.au/about-ckt/meet-our-team

Creative Kids Tales Critique Group

We have five individual groups that make-up our online Creative Kids Tales Critique Group community.

Our group members continue to flourish with more critiquers achieving their dream of publication.

Here’s what some of our members had to say about their experiences with the CKT Critique Group.

Carole Lander

It is a privilege to be involved in a CKT critique group. As emerging authors, we are advised to be in such a group and I have tried to find a face-to-face one in my area - without success. Even though I never meet the writers in my CKT group I now feel as though I know them to a certain extent. This is through each one's writing style, their stories and their comments. And of course, I benefit greatly from their comments. Thank you, Georgie, for making this possible. And thank you Susan Hill for coordinating all of us - no mean feat.

Caroline Tuohey

The critique group is a fundamental part of my 'professional development'. It not only provides a platform for testing new ideas and manuscripts but offers unconditional support and encouragement. No matter what the mix in each group, each member provides valuable, insightful feedback and advice that is underpinned by the desire to have everyone in the group achieve their full potential.

Linda Wright

 As an emerging self-doubting author, I found my place among friends in a CKT critique group who encourage and guide me along my journey. The support and feedback continue to be amazing and the insight gained by being a part of this CKT critique group keeps my going. 

Sandra Bennett

Having an online critique group like CKT is like having a familiar friendly group to bounce ideas off from the comfort of your own home. Living in a rural area this is particularly important as I find it difficult to get into town to often for personal meetups. My critique group offers a friendly, safe environment where we can explore ideas and receive positive helpful feedback. Questions are raised and discussions ensure our writing path is continuously improving.

Creative Kid Tales Network Group

Members of our Creative Kids Tales Network Group continue to share information about their personal writing journeys. With the introduction of PYLTD - Promote Your Latest Title Day members are able to promote their latest releases.

We encourage you to join the Creative Kids Tales Network Group and start a conversation.

People we've chatted with in 2019

There are many organisations that offer services and support for emerging authors and illustrators. We thought we would help shine a light on some of these organisations and show just how we are all connected. 

Wai Chim - February 2019

One More Page (podcast) - March 2019

Pinerolo - the Children’s Book Cottage - April 2019

Books in Homes - May 2019

Story Box Library - June 2019

Faber Writing Academy - July 2019

Kids’ Book Review - August 2019

KOALA - September 2019

Australian Society of Authors (ASA) - October 2019

Kinderling Kids Radio – November 2019

The Australian Writers’ Centre – December 2019

 

We’ll be chatting with more organisations in 2020.

Creative Kids Tales YouTube Channel

Still one of our most popular features, the Creative Kids Tales YouTube Channel has 32 interviews, including interviews from my time on The Author’s Shelf.

Each interview has been matched with a slideshow of photos and book covers of the corresponding author/illustrator.  The great thing about having an audio file is you can listen to our interviews anywhere like on the bus, the train, while gardening or even relaxing in the bath.  However, you choose to listen we thank you and hope you find them informative and inspiring.

KOALA Awards

For the past three years we have been the major corporate sponsor of the KOALA Awards.

KOALA is a non-profit organisation run by volunteers (teacher/librarians, public librarians, teachers, publishers and other supporters of children’s literature).

Every year, young readers from all over New South Wales judge their very own literary awards. By voting in the KOALA awards they can reward the Australian children's books that have most inspired, amused, terrified, enlightened and engaged them.

KOALA need more sponsors. If you are interested drop me an email.

What’s next?

Social media is flooded with sites to help authors and illustrators, there are more popping up every week. Creative Kids Tales is unique in what we offer our members and our readership. We remain committed to promoting our authors and providing services that will help build on their existing talents.

In 2020 we will be offering new services, including online courses and face-to-face networking opportunities. 

From Emma (MS Assessor & APT Coach), Fiona (CKT Intro Writer), Susan (CKT Critique Captain), Rod (website guru) and myself (Georgie) we thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your love and support. Thank you for welcoming us into your lives and allowing us to share in your creative journey.

See you in 2020.

Take care and happy writing!

Goodbye Smiley

For more information about any of the services available on Creative Kids Tales, please drop me an email 

Return to the Home page

  • 'CKT is informative, relevant, recent and fun! It’s an exceptional resource for anyone involved in children’s literature.'

    - www.timharrisbooks.com

    Tim Harris

  • 'Thanks for being such a strong advocate for children’s literature, the power of stories, and reading.
    Keep fighting the good fight and call on me anytime.'
    www.tristanbancks.com

    Tristan Bancks
  • 'What a wonderful website Creative Kids Tales is, supporting and helping Australian authors in their quest through the dark thorny forest of the publishing world. Georgie should be congratulated for all her hard work and fearless leadership!' - www.kateforsyth.com.au

    Kate Forsyth
  • 'I stumbled on to Creative Kids Tales by accident. I thought it was kid's tails. I'd been doing some research about goats and how their tails were actually a fifth leg, a very long time ago. Or did I just dream that? In any case, I was bitterly disappointed at first to find not tails, but tales. However, while I was at the site I had a wander around, and soon discovered that it was even better than a goat's site - no kidding! This is a brilliant haven for writers, new and not so new; a place to showcase their work and to learn from others.' Well done, Georgie. You've done a fantastic job. - www.enterprisingwords.com.au

    Bill Condon
  • 'Congratulations to Georgie Donaghey for her hard work and enthusiasm in setting up a site that has been sorely needed to promote current Australian children's writing. Not just for the established, but for up and coming, Creative Kids Tales showcases talent and provides information essential for anyone in the industry.' - www.enterprisingwords.com.au

    Dianne (Di) Bates
  • 'Creative Kids Tales will jump-start adults seeking to become writers!' - www.wimpykid.com

    Jeff Kinney
  • What a terrific, enthusiastic, informative and creative resource - of value and interest to so many people.
    I'm delighted to be a part of it.
    ursuladubosarsky.squarespace.com

    Ursula Dubosarsky
  • 'CKT is a great resource for both established and emerging authors. I like the way you're always coming up with new and exciting initiatives at your site. And I love reading the fascinating journeys and achievements of the writers you profile here.' - www.deescribe.com.au

    Dee White
  • 'Creative Kids Tales deserves all its accolades. Thanks to its creator, the site provides brilliant support, inspiration and encouragement for anyone who loves creating children's books. I have no hesitation in passing on your link.'
    Well done, Georgie! - www.sherylgwyther.net

    Sheryl Gwyther
  • 'It's easy to feel alone when writing, and clueless about what happens next. Creative Kids Tales offers answers and community - invaluable resources.'

    - www.clairesaxby.com

    Claire Saxby

  • 'Georgie and the team at Creative Kids Tales have a wonderful passion for children’s stories, and this site is a wonderful place to visit to find and share ideas!
    Well done guys!' - www.nick-falk.com

    Nick Falk
  • 'Congratulations on a brilliant site, and a superb first year!'.
    Jackie French is Australian Children's Laureate for 2014 – 2015
    www.jackiefrench.com

    Jackie French
  • 'Creative Kids Tales is a fabulous community of passionate, hardworking and committed writers. If you're looking for new and exciting talent that's dedicated to the children's book industry - look no further than CKT!'

    - www.waichim.com

    Wai Chim

  • 'Creative Kids Tales is ambitious, specific and professional - the Top Tips section alone is a must-read for every aspiring children's writer.' - jackheath.com.au

    Jack Heath
  • 'Creative Kids Tales is a lovely online meeting space brimming with support and ideas for writers.'

    - katrinagermein.com

    Katrina Germein

  • 'It's about time that we had something like Creative Kids Tales. It's a treasure trove for information and news, plus it showcases talent from aspiring writers. It's a wonderful springboard for anyone who wants to dive into the Children books world!'
    Keep up the fabtastic work! - www.oliverwriter.com

    Oliver Phommavanh
  • 'I’m thrilled to be Creative Kids Tales author of the month.' 'I hope in some small way by me taking part, I might help and inspire young authors and artists to follow their own artistic path.' 'The key I believe is to seek to enjoy what you do. Even though doing your best is a constant challenge I find it is a worthwhile one. So, get drawing and / or writing.' Good luck ! - www.leighhobbs.com.au

    Leigh Hobbs
  • 'Creative Kids tales is the perfect place to go for inspiration and to recharge the creative batteries.'

    - www.franelessac.com

    Frané Lessac

  • 'Wow! What a wonderful resource.
    Congrats to everyone involved with Creative Kids Tales.'
    georgeivanoff.com.au

    George Ivanoff
  • 'Creative Kids Tales is a treasure trove of resources and insights, compiled with dedication and enthusiasm. A wonderful resource for anyone who is interested in picture books and children's literature.' - sarah-davis.org

    Sarah Davis
  • 'Everything you need is here, on Creative Kids Tales! Oh, how wonderful this would have been for the young Emma Quay, knowing she loved children’s picture books but not knowing a soul in the industry. Down to earth, comprehensive, friendly, realistic and encouraging advice — this is an invaluable resource. Bravo!' - www.emmaquay.com

    Emma Quay
  • 'Having been a publisher and an author and now proprietor of Pinerolo, the Children’s Book Cottage, I am passionate about promoting children’s books. Creative Kids Tales is such a welcome part of this network and I salute them for their support and their inspiration to so many. On their seventh birthday I wish them many, many happy returns.'

    - www.pinerolo.com.au

    Margaret Hamilton

  • 'Emerging from one's chrysalis of anonymity into the prodigious world of creative children's writing and publishing is a daunting prospect. Georgie Donaghey's Creative Kids Tales is a superlative source of inspiration and information for the bourgeoning writer and illustrator. She has created an invaluable platform from which writers, both developing and established, can view, promote and share each other's work, and most importantly aspirations. A fun, friendly, and informative forum that everyone in the kids' lit industry can benefit from.' Keep it up Georgie! - dimswritestuff.blogspot.com.au

    Dimity Powell
  • "Whether just starting out or with many books under your belt, Creative Kids Tales is the perfect place to go for all things writerly. Sharing the inner world is a wonderful thing for solitary writers, and it's all there on Georgie's website.
    Happy reading!" - tashibooks.com

    Anna Fienberg
  • 'Buckets of thanks to Georgie for creating Creative Kids Tales. There’s a wealth of wonderful information and resources for everyone interested in creating books for kids – and a warm sense of community.'
    www.meredithcostain.com

    Meredith Costain
  • 'If there's anything emerging authors struggle with (beyond the dreaded writer's block), it's receiving recognition or even acknowledgment of their work – battling for a slice of that incredibly elusive publishing pie. Georgie Donaghey has created a priceless promotional and networking station that allows new authors to not only share their work, but gain the courage and nous to take their work to a whole new level. Creative Kids Tales is a valuable addition to Australia's burgeoning children's book market.' - www.taniamccartney.com

    Tania McCartney
  • "What a wonderful website and wealth of resources. I wish I’d discovered it sooner - but I can still enjoy it now, and have added it to my list of resources for new writers."
    "Keep it up, Georgie!" - www.wendyorr.com

    Wendy Orr
  • 'I love the grumpy cat videos, hahaha it's so grumpy ... oh, wait, wrong website. Ah yes, Creative Kids Tales. Brilliant! Getting published is an amazing, frustrating, brilliant, lonely, creative journey, and www.creativekidstales.com.au is awesome in that it helps both published and pre-published authors by providing support, inspiration, a community, and by allowing authors to learn from other authors, and who better is there to learn from .. .except maybe that grumpy cat, hahaha, hilarious.' - www.adam-wallace-books.com

    Adam Wallace
  • Creative Kids Tales offers a brilliant platform for established and emerging creators to keep in touch and learn from each other. That is a great thing for this most isolated of all professions (apart from On-site Antarctic Penguin Imitators). - www.terrydenton.com

    Terry Denton
  • 'The details available on this site, for emerging writers (or those emerged) is incredibly helpful. From creating stories- plotting, dialogue and character building- to the support writers can seek for their work, be it mentoring or seeking a publisher, it’s all there. An excellent easy-to-access writers’ site!'

    - libbyhathorn.com

    Libby Hathorn

  • 'Creative Kids Tales contributes a wonderful sense of community to the Australian kids’ book scene, from sharing insightful interviews, to writing competitions and now a conference. It’s a great organisation to follow online and be a part of!'

    - www.onemorepagepodcast.com

    One More Page podcast

  • 'CKT is like the friendly and helpful colleague I could have done with when I started out. Back then I didn’t know anyone who was a writer or illustrator of books.'

    - www.tohby.com

    Tohby Riddle

  • 'Georgie Donaghey’s Creative Kids Tales is deservedly going gangbusters! What a wonderful forum and multi-storeyed resource for shiny new authors, legends of the industry and every writer in between!'
    dcgreenyarns.blogspot.com.au

    DC Green
  • 'What a great asset you are to the children's book industry, Georgie.
    Long may Creative Kids Tales rule!'
    www.paulcollins.com.au

    Paul Collins
  • 'Creative Kids Tales provides such a valuable service. Writing can be a lonely business at times, and seeking publication can be daunting. So it is especially wonderful for writers to be able to access such a comprehensive site where information, experiences and the ups and downs of writing for kids can be shared.' Well done, Georgie! - www.suewhiting.com

    Sue Whiting
  • 'Creative Kids Tales is an awesome resource you should totally check it out.' - raspratt.com

    R.A. Spratt
  • 'This is a great website. Nowadays, when getting published is so hard and staying published not much easier, everyone needs all the help they can get. And here's Help with a capital H!' 'Go Georgie! Creative Kids Tales is an inspiration for all writers of children's and YA fiction.' - www.richardharland.net

    Richard Harland
  • 'Creative Kids Tales is great. You can pick the brains of people who make stuff without having to stalk them or do anything illegal.' - www.aaronblabeybooks.com

    Aaron Blabey
  • 'If a website can be described as 'homely' or 'a friendly place for emerging writers to visit' then that's how I would describe Creative Kids Tales. It's probably the only Australian website for children's writers that I visit regularly and actually feel part of. When I need motivation, interesting writers to read about, or just a peek at my own 'baby steps' towards being a published writer, I visit the Creative Kids Tales family.' A big thank you to Georgie and Rod for a great website. - www.patsimmonswriter.com.au

    (Pat) Patricia Simmons
  • 'The Creative Kids Tales site is great fun and full of information about authors and their books!' - www.isobellecarmody.net

    Isobelle Carmody
  • 'CKT is such a valuable site for anybody wanting to learn a bit more about making children’s books. When time travelling becomes possible, I’ll steal all the info from this site and deliver it to my younger, aspiring self.'

    - petercarnavas.com

    Peter Carnavas

  • 'Creative Kids Tales is a brilliant resource – for established writers and those just starting out. I wish it had been around when I was a new writer. There are lots of invaluable tips and great advice.
    Congratulations Georgie – it’s fabulous.' - jacquelineharvey.com.au

    Jacqueline Harvey
  • 'Creative Kids Tales is a fantastic resource for aspiring writers that showcases emerging and published authors and illustrators and provides links to publishers' websites, helpful hints and competitions.'

    Rachel Keyes
  • 'Thanks for having me on Creative Kids Tales. It's a great resource for emerging writers and illustrators and I hope it will have a long future.'
    www.sallyrippin.com

    Sally Rippin
  • 'I would have loved to have had access to creativekidstales.com.au when I was starting out! It's an invaluable source of information, inspiration and encouragement for both emerging (and fully-emerged!) writers.' - www.andygriffiths.com.au

    Andy Griffiths
  • 'Creative Kids Tales is a great forum for people who spend most of their working time alone. It is interesting and inspiring to see and hear what other authors and illustrators have to say.' - www.maisyfun.com

    Lucy Cousins
  • 'Creative Kids Tales would’ve been mighty handy to know about back when I was sitting about drawing and writing and having no idea what to do with any of it! Go explore and create knowing you have such an amazing resource at your back!'

    - www.heathmck.com

    Heath McKenzie

  • 'The long-distance marathon of writing, illustrating and publishing usually begins along a very foggy road, in the dark, shoeless. But wait! What's that light on the horizon? A glowing little cafe, full of a bunch other runners plotting out mud-maps on napkins and exchanging anecdotes, warning about ditches and praising short-cuts. Stop for a while, have a cup of tea, maybe even a shoe-fitting, then get yourself back on the road for the long slog to sunrise.' - www.shauntan.net

    Shaun Tan
  • 'Creative Kids Tales is a unique and valuable online resource for new and established authors. The site provides a wealth of information and insight into the children's writing world.' 'Thanks for all your support, Georgie, and keep up the good work.' - www.aleesahdarlison.com

    Aleesah Darlison
  • 'This site is such a wonderful resource for writers and illustrators at every stage of the journey. I've learned more about some of my favourite people in children's literature here, but also had the joy of discovering whole new worlds of talent.' - annabranford.com

    Anna Branford
  • 'Creative Kids Tales offers new writers the joy of publication on their journey of craft and creativity.'
    'It’s a warm and wonderful home.'
    www.sgervay.com

    Susanne Gervay
  • 'Creative Kids Tales is such a great website for navigating this industry – not just for authors and illustrators, but for parents and teachers and librarians and publishers and kids and storytellers of all sorts. It’s awesome!' - www.julesfaber.com

    Jules Faber
  • Writing can be a lonely profession. By necessity, you need to work alone much of the time. But it is wonderful to have a website which eases that by connecting creators with each other and with a wealth of information and resources.
    Bravo! - sallymurphy.com.au

    Sally Murphy
  • 'Wow! Creative Kids Tales is a fantastic resource for writers, no matter what stage of their writing journey they are at. Congratulations, Georgie, on your attractive, easy-to-navigate website, your generosity to your fellow writers and your constantly evolving ideas. Thanks on behalf of all of us.' - wendyblaxland.com

    Wendy Blaxland
  • 'I wish Creative Kids Tales had been around when I was first starting out! What a brilliant way to connect with other authors and find out about the lovely world of kids books.' 'Go Georgie! I think you're amazing.' - www.deborahabela.com

    Deborah Abela
  • 'The thing I like about the Creative Kids Tales website is that the authors come across as real people who face the same problems that beginning writers do and that there’s plenty of practical advice.' - www.duncanball.com.au

    Duncan Ball
  • 'What can I say? Well if you have clicked this far and uncovered these words you KNOW that this (Creative Kids Tales) is a terrific resource full of ideas and connections.
    SO dig deeper and get connected!' - www.chrischeng.com

    Christopher Cheng
  • 'Once you find an easily-accessible, up-to-date and vibrant source of writing help and encouragement, you should value it and use it! Thanks to Creative Kids Tales, that’s all available, just with the tap of your finger: www.creativekidstales.com.au
    Well done, CKT team!' - janeenbrian.com

    Janeen Brian
  • 'Creative Kids Tales has inspired, encouraged and supported not only the published, but also us hopefuls still learning the ways of the publishing world. Thanks for providing not only an amazing site to scroll and learn through, but also providing friendship and a real sense of chasing our dreams.' - gardenbabyfaeries.webs.com

    Kelly McDonald
  • 'What a great site! We all tend to work in isolation in our own little caves. It’s great to see all the other cave dwellers out there and realise we are not alone. What a great resource!'

    - brucewhatley.com

    Bruce Whatley