CKT's Years in Review

Creative Kids Tales - A Year in Review (2018)

Each December, we give you a snapshot of 'the year that was'. It’s now been seven years since the crazy Creative Kids Tales journey began. We hope you enjoy the 2018 edition of - A Year in Review.

One thing that has always been at the top of our list - Support the Australian children’s writing community from emerging to established authors and illustrators. We are proud that throughout our journey we have remained dedicated to doing just that.  By offering you, our writer and illustrator friends a kaleidoscope of services to educate, inform and cultivate your existing talents. We share in your pain and exhilaration as you make your journey along the publication path.

Creative Kids Tales is proud to be unique. We were and are the first to offer a home to share your creative works, comprehensive publishers listing, online critique group, tips from highly regarded members of the children’s writing community, manuscript assessments, book reviews, tips on getting published, what publishers are looking for and many other tools all under one umbrella.

We continue to support you.

CKT Crew

Sadly, Eileen Magee and Jacqueline de Rose-Ahern decided to take a break from their CKT roles this year. Both deciding it was time to dedicate themselves 100% to their writing journey. We wish them all the best and can’t wait to see their books on the shelves.

Fiona Lloyd took on the role of CKT Intro Writer. Fiona has the very important job of researching our monthly guests and preparing an introduction that is both informative and fun.

Susan Hili has long been a valued member of CKT and our online critique group. This year Susan stepped into the role of Online Critique Group Co-ordinator. She juggles the needs and personalities of our five online critique groups.

Emma Cameron and I have had lots of fun this year assessing dozens of manuscripts. The rich variety of stories created by emerging authors is encouraging. It’s been our pleasure to help guide these creatives and hopefully not too far away we’ll be able to celebrate their contract success.

My ever-devoted husband, Rod continues to be the glue that keeps it all together. No more does he tremble when I mutter ‘How about we do this’ instead he takes it in his stride and builds on the wonderful resource we have built together.

I love the people from our writing community. Each day there is someone new to meet and be inspired by their stories.

www.creativekidstales.com.au/about-ckt/meet-our-team

Another First

In the early days planning Creative Kids Tales I made a list.

  • Assist emerging authors and illustrators on their publication journey.
  • Give them a voice and a place to display their work.
  • Provide one site that contains the tools and services to assist them.
  • Share stories and advice from well-known industry names.
  • Publish a collection of CKT members stories.
  • Hold a Festival.

At the end of 2017, there was only one thing on the list that hadn’t been ticked – Hold a Festival.

In January I surveyed our members and asked them what they would like in a CKT Festival. Would they like a predominantly member focused get together with one guest speaker or would they like a festival with all the bells and whistles? They chose the latter. In nine weeks I pulled it all together! Challenge is my middle name ?

Adopting the theme, Prepare to be Inspired, I invited those from the industry who have and continue to inspire me – Susanne Gervay, Sue Whiting, Tristan Bancks, Wai Chim and Sarah Davis. With some carefully selected topics, I was confident with their wealth of knowledge they would be the perfect fit for the first Creative Kids Tales Writers’ Festival. They were.

On the 17th March 2018, emerging and published children’s authors and illustrators travelled from around the country to the scenic Sutherland Shire, to celebrate the Creative Kids Tales Writers’ Festival.

I wanted to cover a variety of topics that catered to children’s writers no matter where they are on their writing journey:

  • A Beginner’s Roadmap to the Children’s Writing Industry.
  • How to give your manuscript the best chance of a contract.
  • What happens once your manuscript hits a publisher’s desk?
  • What publishers are looking for.
  • The marriage between author and illustrator to produce a successful picture book.
  • Rejection – Why it isn’t a bad thing.
  • How to write a successful series.
  • Writing about what you know.
  • Making a difference with your stories.
  • Marketing yourself and your work.
  • And more.

Susanne Gervay, Sue Whiting, Tristan Bancks, Wai Chim and Sarah Davis wowed our audiences.

With the day almost over, it was time for the CKT Pitch ya Book! session.

Five lucky audience members (Dianne EllisSandra BennettKirsten EalandMatthew Shallvey and Victoria Mackinlay had their names drawn from a barrel and gave a 2-minute pitch to judges, Clare HallifaxSue Whiting and Susanne Gervay.

The pitches were of high standard, with Victoria’s taking out the top honour. So impressed was Clare Hallifax, she invited Victoria to submit her full manuscript. I’m happy to report that Victoria has now signed a contract with Scholastic. Woo hoo!

The day wrapped up with a panel of CKT members sharing their journey with the audience.

Next year (2019) we are set to do it all again with the help of our presenters - Jackie French, Jacqueline Harvey, Deborah Abela and Emma Quay. We will cover a variety of topics to strengthen your investment and increase your odds for healthy writing returns. There will also be a special presentation from the ASA and a publisher’s panel where you get to ask all those burning questions.

We’ll have book signings, a book launch and goody bags for all attendees.

Tickets have almost sold out, so get in quick. This is one festival you won’t want to miss. www.creativekidstales.com.au/whats-new/ckt-writers-festival

Creative Kid Tales Network Group

We found the Creative Kids Tales Facebook page a little restrictive. Members were only able to post as visitors and their posts weren’t reaching our wider audience. So, we formed the Creative Kids Tales Network Group. This group offer members a more accessible way to share thoughts, ideas or information that will benefit us all. We encourage you to join the Creative Kids Tales Network Group and start a conversation.

We’ll be moving away from the original Creative Kids Tales Facebook page in preference of this new group. If you’ve not joined yet – what are you waiting for!

Join us on the new page:  www.facebook.com/groups/CreativeKidsTalesNetwork

People we've chatted with in 2018

Over the past six years we have chatted with lots of wonderfully talented authors and illustrators, 2018 was no different:

  • Peter Carnavas - February 2018
  • Claire Saxby - March 2018
  • Tim Harris - April 2018
  • Allison Tait - May 2018
  • John Heffernan - June 2018
  • Heath McKenzie - July 2018
  • Lesley Gibbes - August 2018
  • Nina Rycroft - September 2018
  • Frane Lessac - October 2018
  • Anna Walker - November 2018
  • Margaret Hamilton - December 2018

We’ll be chatting with more authors and illustrators in 2019.

Creative Kids Tales Critique Group

Our Creative Kids Tales Critique Group continues to grow.  Now with five independent groups our members are enjoying workshopping their stories with their peers in a supportive online environment.

Elizabeth Macintosh
I joined a CKT critique group this year. Members provide valuable advice and fresh eyes for each other's stories. Unlike many groups, this one consists solely of writers for children so we are all developing our expertise in one area. This contrasts with my other, real world writers' group which includes a YA author, children's author, playwright, screenwriter and others interested in memoir.

Megan Higginson
I love, love, love the Creative Kids Tales Critique Group. Having fresh eyes on my story means others see how I can improve my story. Critiquing others help me to be able to pull a story apart and see what works and what doesn’t, strengths and weaknesses. This also means I can apply the same technique to my own manuscripts. I’ve found my writing has improved dramatically since joining.

Sandra Bennett
Being in a CKT critique group keeps me on my toes. It helps me stay focused and accountable. Knowing it will be my turn to post means I no longer procrastinate. I make the time to write. Each critique improves my work, it's great having fresh eyes on it that you can trust to help you. I love that, and being able to help others with their stories. This writing gig is all the better when we are not in isolation.

Vanessa Jean
It’s great to put forward your story ideas into a group that is also refining their own skills. Everyone is positive yet so helpful in critiquing those manuscripts that need extra tweaking!

Michelle Wanasundera
Joining CKT critique group was one of the best decisions I've made regarding my writing. When reading your own work over and over it is very easy to miss things that can be clear to others. So of course having a critique group is invaluable. I've polished some early stage stories simply because it’s my turn to post! The support and encouraging comments spur me on too, and the comments that require work give me some much needed direction. Critiquing others work helps keep me in a writing frame of mind, and I love reading the other critiques and have learnt so much this way. It's also a great feeling to help others, and feel connected in this way.

Debra Williams
I have benefitted greatly from the comments of others through this critique group. Suggestions for editing have been taken on board and used. It's always critical to have feedback.

If you have been considering joining an online critique group, why not try the Creative Kids Tales Critique Group.

For more information about this group contact 

Creative Kids Tales Story Collection

One of our biggest achievements last year was the publication of the first Creative Kids Tales Story Collection. 40 of our authors and illustrators created an amazing collection of stories.  

The aim of the project was to give our emerging authors the full experience of being published; beginning with submitting a story, going through the editing process, story layout, printing and then sales and marketing. 

We printed 1000 copies and we sold out within two weeks!

See what all the interest was about: www.georgiedonaghey.com.au/books/ckt-story-collection

Guess what? We have another one coming out in 2019. Stay tuned for more information about the Creative Kids Tales Story Collection Volume 2.

CKT's Competitions in 2018

We ran one competition this year; Felines, Farts or Frightening Places. We do love themes at Creative Kids Tales.

Felines, Farts or Frightening Places

Felines Farts or Frightening Places banner

Sponsored by Faber Writing Academy

Faber Writing Academy Banner

Congratulations to all who entered our Felines, Farts or Frightening Places competition.

The AMAZING amount of entries we received for this year’s feedback competition have blitzed all previous year’s numbers. The judges had the challenging task of picking the top three. Keep reading to see who took out the top honours.

I want to say a BIG thank you to Faber Writing Academy for again sponsoring this competition. I encourage you to peruse their course list and set yourself a goal to devour one. You won’t be disappointed.

Faber Writing Academy at Allen & Unwin is an exciting writing programme offering a range of courses from one-day workshops to longer courses devised by the foremost practitioners in their fields.

Since launching its first course at Shakespeare & Co bookshop in Paris in 2008, Faber Academy has tutored more than 1500 students in courses ranging from one-day workshops such as Getting Published to longer courses including our popular program Writing a Novel.

Faber Academy was established by iconic London publishing house Faber and Faber to provide high quality, practical creative writing courses that draw participants into the epicentre of the book publishing world. The writing courses are devised and run by leading figures in contemporary publishing. To date, Faber Academy has given the opportunity for writers to benefit first-hand from authors such as Jeanette Winterson, Louise Doughty, Blake Morrison, Helen Dunmore, Margaret Atwood, Miriam Toews, Kathryn Heyman, James Bradley, Patti Miller, Sebastian Barry and Hanif Kureishi.

In 2010, Faber Academy found a natural home with Australia's award-winning publisher Allen & Unwin, and courses are offered in Sydney and Melbourne.

Prizes:

1st Prize - Received a $295 Faber Writing Academy voucher to be redeemed at one of their writing courses in either Sydney or Melbourne – valid for 12 months from 1st August 2018*.

($295 covers the cost of a 1 day course (incl GST) or you can use it towards the cost of a longer Faber Academy course) faberwritingacademy.com.au

2nd Prize - Received a detailed critique of their entry through the Creative Kids Tales Manuscript Assessment service. Value $100

3rd Prize - Received a $50 book pack and one year membership with Creative Kids Tales.

The Winners were:

1st Place – Lana Spasevski - A Monster Lunch.

2nd Place – Elizabeth Macintosh - Kate and the Circus

3rd Place – Sharon Boyce - Heartstone

Creative Kids Tales YouTube Channel

Still one of our most popular features, the Creative Kids Tales YouTube Channel has 32 interviews, including interviews from my time on The Author’s Shelf.

Each interview has been matched with a slideshow of photos and book covers of the corresponding author/illustrator.  The great thing about having an audio file is you can listen to our interviews anywhere like on the bus, the train, while gardening or even relaxing in the bath.  However, you choose to listen we thank you and hope you find them informative and inspiring.

KOALA Awards

We continue to support our local writing community there is no question of that and for the past two years we have been the major corporate sponsor of the KOALA Awards.

KOALA is a non-profit organisation run by volunteers (teacher/librarians, public librarians, teachers, publishers and other supporters of children’s literature).

Every year, young readers from all over New South Wales judge their very own literary awards. By voting in the KOALA awards they can reward the Australian children's books that have most inspired, amused, terrified, enlightened and engaged them.

KOALA need more sponsors. If you are interested drop me an email.

See you next year!

In 2019 we head into our eighth year. Gulp! We hope you will join us.

From Emma (MS Assessor & APT Coach), Fiona (CKT Intro Writer), Susan (CKT Critique Captain), Rod (website guru) and myself (Georgie) we thank you for your support and allowing us to share in your journey.

Take care and happy writing!

Goodbye Smiley

Return to the Home page

  • 'Creative Kids Tales is a lovely online meeting space brimming with support and ideas for writers.'

    - katrinagermein.com

    Katrina Germein

  • 'This is a great website. Nowadays, when getting published is so hard and staying published not much easier, everyone needs all the help they can get. And here's Help with a capital H!' 'Go Georgie! Creative Kids Tales is an inspiration for all writers of children's and YA fiction.' - www.richardharland.net

    Richard Harland
  • 'CKT is like the friendly and helpful colleague I could have done with when I started out. Back then I didn’t know anyone who was a writer or illustrator of books.'

    - www.tohby.com

    Tohby Riddle

  • 'I stumbled on to Creative Kids Tales by accident. I thought it was kid's tails. I'd been doing some research about goats and how their tails were actually a fifth leg, a very long time ago. Or did I just dream that? In any case, I was bitterly disappointed at first to find not tails, but tales. However, while I was at the site I had a wander around, and soon discovered that it was even better than a goat's site - no kidding! This is a brilliant haven for writers, new and not so new; a place to showcase their work and to learn from others.' Well done, Georgie. You've done a fantastic job. - www.enterprisingwords.com.au

    Bill Condon
  • 'What a wonderful website Creative Kids Tales is, supporting and helping Australian authors in their quest through the dark thorny forest of the publishing world. Georgie should be congratulated for all her hard work and fearless leadership!' - www.kateforsyth.com.au

    Kate Forsyth
  • 'What a great asset you are to the children's book industry, Georgie.
    Long may Creative Kids Tales rule!'
    www.paulcollins.com.au

    Paul Collins
  • 'Having been a publisher and an author and now proprietor of Pinerolo, the Children’s Book Cottage, I am passionate about promoting children’s books. Creative Kids Tales is such a welcome part of this network and I salute them for their support and their inspiration to so many. On their seventh birthday I wish them many, many happy returns.'

    - www.pinerolo.com.au

    Margaret Hamilton

  • Creative Kids Tales offers a brilliant platform for established and emerging creators to keep in touch and learn from each other. That is a great thing for this most isolated of all professions (apart from On-site Antarctic Penguin Imitators). - www.terrydenton.com

    Terry Denton
  • 'Emerging from one's chrysalis of anonymity into the prodigious world of creative children's writing and publishing is a daunting prospect. Georgie Donaghey's Creative Kids Tales is a superlative source of inspiration and information for the bourgeoning writer and illustrator. She has created an invaluable platform from which writers, both developing and established, can view, promote and share each other's work, and most importantly aspirations. A fun, friendly, and informative forum that everyone in the kids' lit industry can benefit from.' Keep it up Georgie! - dimswritestuff.blogspot.com.au

    Dimity Powell
  • 'It's about time that we had something like Creative Kids Tales. It's a treasure trove for information and news, plus it showcases talent from aspiring writers. It's a wonderful springboard for anyone who wants to dive into the Children books world!'
    Keep up the fabtastic work! - www.oliverwriter.com

    Oliver Phommavanh
  • 'Wow! What a wonderful resource.
    Congrats to everyone involved with Creative Kids Tales.'
    georgeivanoff.com.au

    George Ivanoff
  • 'It's easy to feel alone when writing, and clueless about what happens next. Creative Kids Tales offers answers and community - invaluable resources.'

    - www.clairesaxby.com

    Claire Saxby

  • 'The long-distance marathon of writing, illustrating and publishing usually begins along a very foggy road, in the dark, shoeless. But wait! What's that light on the horizon? A glowing little cafe, full of a bunch other runners plotting out mud-maps on napkins and exchanging anecdotes, warning about ditches and praising short-cuts. Stop for a while, have a cup of tea, maybe even a shoe-fitting, then get yourself back on the road for the long slog to sunrise.' - www.shauntan.net

    Shaun Tan
  • 'Creative Kids Tales is a treasure trove of resources and insights, compiled with dedication and enthusiasm. A wonderful resource for anyone who is interested in picture books and children's literature.' - sarah-davis.org

    Sarah Davis
  • 'Once you find an easily-accessible, up-to-date and vibrant source of writing help and encouragement, you should value it and use it! Thanks to Creative Kids Tales, that’s all available, just with the tap of your finger: www.creativekidstales.com.au
    Well done, CKT team!' - janeenbrian.com

    Janeen Brian
  • 'Creative Kids Tales is a brilliant resource – for established writers and those just starting out. I wish it had been around when I was a new writer. There are lots of invaluable tips and great advice.
    Congratulations Georgie – it’s fabulous.' - jacquelineharvey.com.au

    Jacqueline Harvey
  • 'CKT is such a valuable site for anybody wanting to learn a bit more about making children’s books. When time travelling becomes possible, I’ll steal all the info from this site and deliver it to my younger, aspiring self.'

    - petercarnavas.com

    Peter Carnavas

  • 'Creative Kids Tales offers new writers the joy of publication on their journey of craft and creativity.'
    'It’s a warm and wonderful home.'
    www.sgervay.com

    Susanne Gervay
  • 'Everything you need is here, on Creative Kids Tales! Oh, how wonderful this would have been for the young Emma Quay, knowing she loved children’s picture books but not knowing a soul in the industry. Down to earth, comprehensive, friendly, realistic and encouraging advice — this is an invaluable resource. Bravo!' - www.emmaquay.com

    Emma Quay
  • 'The details available on this site, for emerging writers (or those emerged) is incredibly helpful. From creating stories- plotting, dialogue and character building- to the support writers can seek for their work, be it mentoring or seeking a publisher, it’s all there. An excellent easy-to-access writers’ site!'

    - libbyhathorn.com

    Libby Hathorn

  • 'The Creative Kids Tales site is great fun and full of information about authors and their books!' - www.isobellecarmody.net

    Isobelle Carmody
  • 'I would have loved to have had access to creativekidstales.com.au when I was starting out! It's an invaluable source of information, inspiration and encouragement for both emerging (and fully-emerged!) writers.' - www.andygriffiths.com.au

    Andy Griffiths
  • 'Wow! Creative Kids Tales is a fantastic resource for writers, no matter what stage of their writing journey they are at. Congratulations, Georgie, on your attractive, easy-to-navigate website, your generosity to your fellow writers and your constantly evolving ideas. Thanks on behalf of all of us.' - wendyblaxland.com

    Wendy Blaxland
  • 'Creative Kids Tales would’ve been mighty handy to know about back when I was sitting about drawing and writing and having no idea what to do with any of it! Go explore and create knowing you have such an amazing resource at your back!'

    - www.heathmck.com

    Heath McKenzie

  • 'Creative Kids Tales has inspired, encouraged and supported not only the published, but also us hopefuls still learning the ways of the publishing world. Thanks for providing not only an amazing site to scroll and learn through, but also providing friendship and a real sense of chasing our dreams.' - gardenbabyfaeries.webs.com

    Kelly McDonald
  • 'I love the grumpy cat videos, hahaha it's so grumpy ... oh, wait, wrong website. Ah yes, Creative Kids Tales. Brilliant! Getting published is an amazing, frustrating, brilliant, lonely, creative journey, and www.creativekidstales.com.au is awesome in that it helps both published and pre-published authors by providing support, inspiration, a community, and by allowing authors to learn from other authors, and who better is there to learn from .. .except maybe that grumpy cat, hahaha, hilarious.' - www.adam-wallace-books.com

    Adam Wallace
  • 'Georgie and the team at Creative Kids Tales have a wonderful passion for children’s stories, and this site is a wonderful place to visit to find and share ideas!
    Well done guys!' - www.nick-falk.com

    Nick Falk
  • 'If a website can be described as 'homely' or 'a friendly place for emerging writers to visit' then that's how I would describe Creative Kids Tales. It's probably the only Australian website for children's writers that I visit regularly and actually feel part of. When I need motivation, interesting writers to read about, or just a peek at my own 'baby steps' towards being a published writer, I visit the Creative Kids Tales family.' A big thank you to Georgie and Rod for a great website. - www.patsimmonswriter.com.au

    (Pat) Patricia Simmons
  • 'What a great site! We all tend to work in isolation in our own little caves. It’s great to see all the other cave dwellers out there and realise we are not alone. What a great resource!'

    - brucewhatley.com

    Bruce Whatley

  • 'I’m thrilled to be Creative Kids Tales author of the month.' 'I hope in some small way by me taking part, I might help and inspire young authors and artists to follow their own artistic path.' 'The key I believe is to seek to enjoy what you do. Even though doing your best is a constant challenge I find it is a worthwhile one. So, get drawing and / or writing.' Good luck ! - www.leighhobbs.com.au

    Leigh Hobbs
  • 'Creative Kids Tales is an awesome resource you should totally check it out.' - raspratt.com

    R.A. Spratt
  • 'Creative Kids tales is the perfect place to go for inspiration and to recharge the creative batteries.'

    - www.franelessac.com

    Frané Lessac

  • 'Creative Kids Tales is ambitious, specific and professional - the Top Tips section alone is a must-read for every aspiring children's writer.' - jackheath.com.au

    Jack Heath
  • 'If there's anything emerging authors struggle with (beyond the dreaded writer's block), it's receiving recognition or even acknowledgment of their work – battling for a slice of that incredibly elusive publishing pie. Georgie Donaghey has created a priceless promotional and networking station that allows new authors to not only share their work, but gain the courage and nous to take their work to a whole new level. Creative Kids Tales is a valuable addition to Australia's burgeoning children's book market.' - www.taniamccartney.com

    Tania McCartney
  • 'I wish Creative Kids Tales had been around when I was first starting out! What a brilliant way to connect with other authors and find out about the lovely world of kids books.' 'Go Georgie! I think you're amazing.' - www.deborahabela.com

    Deborah Abela
  • 'CKT is informative, relevant, recent and fun! It’s an exceptional resource for anyone involved in children’s literature.'

    - www.timharrisbooks.com

    Tim Harris

  • 'CKT is a great resource for both established and emerging authors. I like the way you're always coming up with new and exciting initiatives at your site. And I love reading the fascinating journeys and achievements of the writers you profile here.' - www.deescribe.com.au

    Dee White
  • 'Creative Kids Tales will jump-start adults seeking to become writers!' - www.wimpykid.com

    Jeff Kinney
  • 'The thing I like about the Creative Kids Tales website is that the authors come across as real people who face the same problems that beginning writers do and that there’s plenty of practical advice.' - www.duncanball.com.au

    Duncan Ball
  • 'Georgie Donaghey’s Creative Kids Tales is deservedly going gangbusters! What a wonderful forum and multi-storeyed resource for shiny new authors, legends of the industry and every writer in between!'
    dcgreenyarns.blogspot.com.au

    DC Green
  • 'Creative Kids Tales provides such a valuable service. Writing can be a lonely business at times, and seeking publication can be daunting. So it is especially wonderful for writers to be able to access such a comprehensive site where information, experiences and the ups and downs of writing for kids can be shared.' Well done, Georgie! - www.suewhiting.com

    Sue Whiting
  • "What a wonderful website and wealth of resources. I wish I’d discovered it sooner - but I can still enjoy it now, and have added it to my list of resources for new writers."
    "Keep it up, Georgie!" - www.wendyorr.com

    Wendy Orr
  • 'Creative Kids Tales contributes a wonderful sense of community to the Australian kids’ book scene, from sharing insightful interviews, to writing competitions and now a conference. It’s a great organisation to follow online and be a part of!'

    - www.onemorepagepodcast.com

    One More Page podcast

  • 'Creative Kids Tales is great. You can pick the brains of people who make stuff without having to stalk them or do anything illegal.' - www.aaronblabeybooks.com

    Aaron Blabey
  • 'Congratulations on a brilliant site, and a superb first year!'.
    Jackie French is Australian Children's Laureate for 2014 – 2015
    www.jackiefrench.com

    Jackie French
  • 'What can I say? Well if you have clicked this far and uncovered these words you KNOW that this (Creative Kids Tales) is a terrific resource full of ideas and connections.
    SO dig deeper and get connected!' - www.chrischeng.com

    Christopher Cheng
  • "Whether just starting out or with many books under your belt, Creative Kids Tales is the perfect place to go for all things writerly. Sharing the inner world is a wonderful thing for solitary writers, and it's all there on Georgie's website.
    Happy reading!" - tashibooks.com

    Anna Fienberg
  • 'Creative Kids Tales is a unique and valuable online resource for new and established authors. The site provides a wealth of information and insight into the children's writing world.' 'Thanks for all your support, Georgie, and keep up the good work.' - www.aleesahdarlison.com

    Aleesah Darlison
  • 'Creative Kids Tales is a fantastic resource for aspiring writers that showcases emerging and published authors and illustrators and provides links to publishers' websites, helpful hints and competitions.'

    Rachel Keyes
  • What a terrific, enthusiastic, informative and creative resource - of value and interest to so many people.
    I'm delighted to be a part of it.
    ursuladubosarsky.squarespace.com

    Ursula Dubosarsky
  • 'Buckets of thanks to Georgie for creating Creative Kids Tales. There’s a wealth of wonderful information and resources for everyone interested in creating books for kids – and a warm sense of community.'
    www.meredithcostain.com

    Meredith Costain
  • 'Creative Kids Tales is a fabulous community of passionate, hardworking and committed writers. If you're looking for new and exciting talent that's dedicated to the children's book industry - look no further than CKT!'

    - www.waichim.com

    Wai Chim

  • 'Thanks for having me on Creative Kids Tales. It's a great resource for emerging writers and illustrators and I hope it will have a long future.'
    www.sallyrippin.com

    Sally Rippin
  • 'Creative Kids Tales deserves all its accolades. Thanks to its creator, the site provides brilliant support, inspiration and encouragement for anyone who loves creating children's books. I have no hesitation in passing on your link.'
    Well done, Georgie! - www.sherylgwyther.net

    Sheryl Gwyther
  • 'Thanks for being such a strong advocate for children’s literature, the power of stories, and reading.
    Keep fighting the good fight and call on me anytime.'
    www.tristanbancks.com

    Tristan Bancks
  • 'Creative Kids Tales is such a great website for navigating this industry – not just for authors and illustrators, but for parents and teachers and librarians and publishers and kids and storytellers of all sorts. It’s awesome!' - www.julesfaber.com

    Jules Faber
  • 'Congratulations to Georgie Donaghey for her hard work and enthusiasm in setting up a site that has been sorely needed to promote current Australian children's writing. Not just for the established, but for up and coming, Creative Kids Tales showcases talent and provides information essential for anyone in the industry.' - www.enterprisingwords.com.au

    Dianne (Di) Bates
  • 'This site is such a wonderful resource for writers and illustrators at every stage of the journey. I've learned more about some of my favourite people in children's literature here, but also had the joy of discovering whole new worlds of talent.' - annabranford.com

    Anna Branford
  • 'Creative Kids Tales is a great forum for people who spend most of their working time alone. It is interesting and inspiring to see and hear what other authors and illustrators have to say.' - www.maisyfun.com

    Lucy Cousins
  • Writing can be a lonely profession. By necessity, you need to work alone much of the time. But it is wonderful to have a website which eases that by connecting creators with each other and with a wealth of information and resources.
    Bravo! - sallymurphy.com.au

    Sally Murphy